Finance for Families Course References

  1. Home
  2. /
  3. Finance for Families Course...

Lesson 101

Livingston, A. Money Crashers. https://www.moneycrashers.com/types-unexpected-expenses-plan/. Published April 5, 2018. Accessed April 20, 2021.

Author G. 30 Ways To Cut Your Monthly Expenses. Lifehack. https://www.lifehack.org/articles/money/30-ways-cut-your-monthly-expenses.html. Published November 6, 2017. Accessed April 20, 2021.

Caldwell M. 7 Reasons Why You Should Budget Your Money. The Balance. https://www.thebalance.com/reasons-to-budget-money-2385699. Published May 25, 2020. Accessed April 20, 2021.

Courtney-Rose Dantus –. Budgeting: How to create a budget and stick with it. Consumer Financial Protection Bureau. https://www.consumerfinance.gov/about-us/blog/budgeting-how-to-create-a-budget-and-stick-with-it/. Published June 5, 2019. Accessed April 20, 2021.

Irby LT. Reasons You Shouldn’t Use Your Credit Card in an Emergency. The Balance. https://www.thebalance.com/why-using-your-credit-card-for-emergencies-is-risky-960992. Accessed April 20, 2021.

Lynn L. The 9 Best Free Budgeting Apps To Help You. National Debt Relief. https://www.nationaldebtrelief.com/best-free-budgeting-apps/. Published March 21, 2021. Accessed April 20, 2021.

Ramsey Solutions. How to Meal Plan to Save Time and Money. Ramsey Solutions. https://www.everydollar.com/blog/create-a-meal-plan Published March 9, 2021. Accessed April 20, 2021.

Renter E. 20 Monthly Expenses to Include in Your Budget. NerdWallet. https://www.nerdwallet.com/blog/finance/budget-checklists-for-the-diy-budgeter/. Published March 3, 2021. Accessed April 20, 2021.

West Virginia 211. http://www.wv211.org/. Accessed April 20, 2021.

What is Budgeting and Why is it Important? My Money Coach. https://www.mymoneycoach.ca/budgeting/what-is-a-budget-planning-forecasting. Accessed April 20, 2021.

7 Expert Perspectives on Why Financial Literacy Is Important. OppLoans. https://www.opploans.com/oppu/articles/why-is-financial-literacy-important/. Published April 12, 2021. Accessed April 20, 2021.

7 of The Best Budget Templates And Tools. Clever Girl Finance. https://www.clevergirlfinance.com/blog/the-best-budget-templates/. Published March 25, 2021. Accessed April 20, 2021.

Dave Ramsey’s Envelope System Explained: Pros, Cons and Alternatives. Debt.org. https://www.debt.org/advice/dave-ramseys-envelope-system-explained/. Published January 28, 2021. Accessed April 20, 2021.

Grandparents.com. The 7 Best Coupon Apps Right Now. HuffPost. https://www.huffpost.com/entry/the-7-best-coupon-apps-right-now_n_57d6fa24e4b03d2d459bb3c2?guccounter=1&guce_referrer=aHR0cHM6Ly93d3cuZ29vZ2xlLmNvbS8&guce_referrer_sig=AQAAABUPKiJQV18SAJfbkrOqk9lpa3Ssm91Lz2fbBQucBeqT4aDo_P-6sf7rszXlW4zdBHTXDbbEudjCsZsffekczE5vx3G_6QpYg2iS1STeUNRb7Ru-Z50txk-dkodHZtYkTxV33vasYZXWD1C8e2KzQV9-IMoSCpiNglW6Hsj05Vtk. Published May 22, 2019. Accessed April 20, 2021.

Hund L. 10 Ways To Boost Your Financial Awareness. Bankrate. https://www.bankrate.com/personal-finance/boost-your-financial-awareness/. Accessed April 20, 2021.

Lynn L. The 9 Best Free Budgeting Apps To Help You. National Debt Relief. https://www.nationaldebtrelief.com/best-free-budgeting-apps/. Published March 21, 2021. Accessed April 20, 2021.

Robinson M. 189 Side Hustle Ideas to Make Extra Money in 2021. DollarSprout. https://www.breakingtheonepercent.com/make-extra-money-list/#:~:text=Easiest%20Ways%20to%20Make%20Extra%20Money%20Fast.%201,9%209.%20Walk%20Dogs%20in%20Your%20Neighborhood.%20. Published April 13, 2021. Accessed April 20, 2021.

Rosenberg E. Best Budgeting Apps. The Balance. https://www.thebalance.com/best-budgeting-apps-4159414. Accessed April 20, 2021.

Lesson 201

STABLE Account. https://wvable.com/#stable-account. Accessed April 21, 2021.

Bank. The Free Dictionary. https://financial-dictionary.thefreedictionary.com/Bank. Accessed April 21, 2021.

Banking 101: Banking Products and Services. Capital One. https://www.capitalone.com/bank/money-management/banking-basics/banking-products-and-services/. Published January 30, 2019. Accessed April 21, 2021.

Better Money Habits. 10 Questions to Ask When Opening a Bank Account. Better Money Habits. https://bettermoneyhabits.bankofamerica.com/en/personal-banking/choosing-bank-account-questions. Published January 20, 2021. Accessed April 21, 2021.

Cruze R. Dave Ramsey’s Envelope System Explained. Ramsey Solutions. https://www.daveramsey.com/blog/envelope-system-explained#:~:text=%20How%20the%20Envelope%20System%20Works%20%201,Let%E2%80%99s%20say%20you%E2%80%99ve%20budgeted%20%24500%20a…%20More%20. Published February 25, 2021. Accessed April 21, 2021.

Fontinelle A. Start Saving Now! Here’s Why. Investopedia. https://www.investopedia.com/articles/personal-finance/031215/why-saving-money-important.asp#:~:text=%20Why%20Saving%20Money%20is%20Important%20%201,year%20to%20earn%20most%20of%20our…%20More%20. Published August 28, 2020. Accessed April 21, 2021.

Fontinelle A. The 6 Different Types of Checking Accounts. Investopedia. https://www.investopedia.com/personal-finance/6-different-types-checking-accounts/. Published January 18, 2021. Accessed April 21, 2021.

Fontinelle A. The Basics of Debit Cards. Investopedia. https://www.investopedia.com/terms/d/debitcard.asp. Published April 1, 2021. Accessed April 21, 2021.

Kline B, KlineHi AB. The Ultimate 2021 Budget Binder That Will Change Your Life. The Savvy Couple. https://thesavvycouple.com/budgeting-binder/#:~:text=%20How%20do%20you%20Use%20The%20Budget%20Binder%3F,your%20monthly%20expenses%20to%20the%20best…%20More%20. Published November 12, 2020. Accessed April 21, 2021.

Kurt D. Are Prepaid Cards Right for You? Investopedia. https://www.investopedia.com/are-prepaid-cards-right-for-you-4590082#:~:text=Key%20Takeaways%201%20Prepaid%20cards%20are%20a%20form,fees%E2%80%94in%20addition%20to%20a%20fixed%20monthly%20fee. Published January 25, 2021. Accessed April 21, 2021.

McGurran B. What Is a Credit Union? Experian. https://www.experian.com/blogs/ask-experian/what-is-a-credit-union/. Published March 7, 2019. Accessed April 21, 2021.

The Pros and Cons of a Credit Union Versus a Bank. U.S. News & World Report. https://money.usnews.com/banking/articles/the-pros-and-cons-of-a-credit-union-versus-a-bank#:~:text=The%20main%20difference%20between%20a%20bank%20and%20a,accounts%20%E2%80%93%20are%20also%20available%20with%20traditional%20banks. Accessed April 21, 2021.

Roberts C. Advantages and disadvantages of savings and checking accounts. https://finance.zacks.com/advantages-disadvantages-savings-checking-accounts-3843.html. Published January 28, 2019. Accessed April 21, 2021.

Lesson 301

wiseGEEK. https://www.wisegeek.com/what-is-a-student-loan.htm. Accessed April 21, 2021.

Axelton K. Is There Such a Thing as Good Debt? Experian. https://www.experian.com/blogs/ask-experian/what-is-good-debt/. Published November 27, 2019. Accessed April 21, 2021.

Best Personal Loans of April 2021: The Ascent. The Motley Fool. https://www.fool.com/the-ascent/personal-loans/#:~:text=A%20personal%20loan%20is%20money%20borrowed%20from%20a,of%20time%2C%20referred%20to%20as%20the%20%22loan%20term.%22. Published April 2, 2021. Accessed April 21, 2021.

Chen J. Debt. Investopedia. https://www.investopedia.com/terms/d/debt.asp. Published April 17, 2021. Accessed April 21, 2021.

Credit Score Range. ScoreSense. https://www.scoresense.com/credit-score-range/#:~:text=Credit%20scores%20typically%20have%20a%20range%20of%20300,numerical%20scoring%20that%20categorize%20a%20consumer%E2%80%99s%20credit%20score. Published March 27, 2020. Accessed April 21, 2021.

Debt Snowball Calculator. Financial Mentor. https://financialmentor.com/calculator/debt-snowball-calculator. Published July 7, 2020. Accessed April 21, 2021.

DeNicola Wby: L. 5 of the Main Factors that Affect Your Credit Scores. Credit Karma. https://www.creditkarma.com/advice/i/what-affects-your-credit-scores#:~:text=What%20factors%20affect%20your%20credit%20scores%3F%201%20Most,Length%20of%20credit%20history.%20…%20More%20items…%20. Published November 11, 2020. Accessed April 21, 2021.

Investopedia. What are the main categories of debt? Investopedia. https://www.investopedia.com/ask/answers/110614/what-are-main-categories-debt.asp. Published March 8, 2021. Accessed April 21, 2021.

Irby LT. 7 Reasons to Check Your Credit Score More Often. The Balance. https://www.thebalance.com/why-you-should-check-your-credit-score-regularly-4083165. Accessed April 21, 2021.

Irby LT. How a Credit Score Influences Your Interest Rate. The Balance. https://www.thebalance.com/how-your-credit-score-influences-your-interest-rate-960278. Accessed April 21, 2021.

Irby LT. What Is a Credit Card? The Balance. https://www.thebalance.com/what-is-a-credit-card-960233. Accessed April 21, 2021.

Kossman S. Does Checking Your Credit Score Lower It? The Balance. https://www.thebalance.com/does-checking-your-credit-score-lower-it-4769382. Accessed April 21, 2021.

McGurran B. 21 Ways to Improve Credit in 2021. Experian. https://www.experian.com/blogs/ask-experian/ways-to-improve-credit. Published January 13, 2021. Accessed April 21, 2021.

Pritchard J. What Is Interest? The Balance. https://www.thebalance.com/what-is-interest-315436. Published October 4, 2020. Accessed April 21, 2021.

Tretina Wby: K. 5 Best Medical Loans of 2021. Credit Karma. https://www.creditkarma.com/personal-loans/i/medical-loans#:~:text=A%20medical%20loan%20is%20a%20personal%20loan%20that%E2%80%99s,elective%20procedures%2C%20fertility%20treatments%2C%20prescriptions%2C%20surgeries%20and%20more. Published April 9, 2021. Accessed April 21, 2021.

What is a Credit Report and What Does it Include? Equifax. https://www.equifax.com/personal/education/credit/report/what-is-a-credit-report-and-what-does-it-include/#:~:text=Highlights%3A%201%20A%20credit%20report%20is%20a%20summary,to%20ensure%20the%20information%20is%20accurate%20and%20complete. Accessed April 21, 2021.

What Is a Mortgage? Definition & Info: Zillow. Mortgage Learning Center. https://www.zillow.com/mortgage-learning/what-is-a-mortgage/#:~:text=What%20is%20a%20Mortgage%3F%20A%20mortgage%20is%20a,borrowing%20to%20finance%20the%20mortgage%20for%20a%20house. Published May 15, 2018. Accessed April 21, 2021.

Back to